How do I contact the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation (IDFPR)?
You can contact the IDFPR at:
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
Division of Real Estate
320 West Washington – 3rd Floor
Springfield, IL 62786
frp.realestate.Illinois.gov If you email the real estate division, give yourself plenty of time for them to get back to you (probably 15 hours+/-).
Who administers the state of Illinois real estate exam?
The state exam is administered by Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP). They administer the test at 12 sites throughout Illinois and Milwaukee, Wisconsin. They have a website at www.goAMP.com.
Many years ago, I had a real estate license in another state. How will it affect my taking the real estate exam in Illinois?
Before being issued an Illinois license, you will be required to have the other state send a document to Illinois stating your license was in good standing when you quit the license in that state. This is true even if you still hold a license in the other state. The statement from the other state needs to be current, so contact the other state near the end of your course work a few weeks before sitting for the state exam.
I took the Broker Pre-License Topics (75 hour) and the Broker Pre-License Applied Principles course (15 hours) course over 2 years ago. Am I still eligible to sit for the state exam?
As of August 9, 2019 the current License Act made transcripts valid for only 2 years. Previously, under the old License Act transcripts were valid for 4 years. If you successfully completed the Broker Pre-license Topics and Broker Pre-License Applied Principles courses before August 9, 2019 call the IDFPR and see if they will grandfather your course work and, therefore, your transcripts. It’s worth a try! y You might also seriously consider whether you have retained enough information to pass the exam.
How many times can I take the state exam?
The state exam has two sections; a general section and an Illinois specific section. You must pass each section with a minimum grade of 75%. If you fail the exam, you may retake the exam 3 more times (total of four times). If you fail only one portion of the exam (the general or the Illinois specific section), you need retake only the portion you failed. If you fail either portion of the exam 4 times, you must retake the course hours required to sit for the exam (a Broker candidate must complete the 75 hours of classes and a Managing Broker candidate must complete the 45 hours of classes). After successful completion of these class hours, you may sit for the state exam 4 more times. The fifth attempt will be treated as a first attempt and you will be required to pass both sections of the exam.
How often is the state exam given?
The state exam is given Monday through Friday at 9:00 AM and 1:30 PM at exam sites throughout Illinois. The exam is also given on certain Saturdays at certain sites.
How do I schedule an exam?
Broker candidates qualifying (under the 75 hour qualification) take the exam by completing the 60 hour Broker Pre-License Topics and the 15 hour Broker Pre-License Applied Principles course need only call 800-345-6559 to schedule an exam. Attorneys applying under the licensed attorney qualification must seek prior approval. Managing Broker candidates applying under the 45 class hour (30 hour Managing Broker Pre-License Topics and 15 hour Managing Broker Pre-License Applied Management and Supervision) qualification need only call the 800-345-6559 to schedule the exam. Attorneys applying under the licensed attorney qualification must seek prior approval.
What are the hours I can call to schedule an exam?
The scheduling centers are open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. You can also schedule the exam yourself by going to www.goAMP.com. Exams are scheduled for 9:00 AM and 1:30 PM.
Is the testing service TTY/TDD equipped?
Yes. TTY/TDD calling is available to assist deaf and hearing impaired candidates at 913-495-4437 Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
I have a physical disability. How can I make arrangements to take the exam? Will the testing service make arrangements to accommodate my disability?
The testing service (AMP) must comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). All AMP test centers are wheelchair accessible, but candidates should notify AMP of the need for special accommodations at the time of registering. AMP recommends that when scheduling an examination, inform AMP of your need for special accommodations. AMP will make a every effort to provide reasonable accommodations as permitted by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation and the limitations of the testing center facilities. Candidates requesting special accommodations will be required to submit documentation from an education professional, doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist, etc.
Requests for special testing arrangements for impaired sensory, manual, speaking skills, or other disability should be faxed to 800-345-6559. The request should include all the necessary forms. (click here for the forms)
Additional questions concerning ADA’s arrangements should be directed to AMP at 800-345-6559.
Do I have to schedule an exam? Can’t I just show up at a site and see if there is room for me?
No. Walk-in testing is not allowed.
If I call to schedule an exam today, will they let me sit for it tomorrow?
No. You must allow the testing service an advanced notice of 3 business days. Reservations are scheduled on a first-to-call basis and scheduling is subject to test center capacity.
Call AMP before 3:00 Central Time on
The soonest you may
Where do I go to take the state exam?
The exam is given at exam sites throughout Illinois.
How much does it cost to take the state exam?
You will be charged $55 to take the state exam. The $55 fee may be paid by Visa/MasterCard/Discover/American Express when registering for the exam. For those that choose not to use a credit card, payment may be made by cashier’s check or money order (payable to AMP). Cash and personal or company checks are NOT acceptable. Those without credit cards can only register by MONEY ORDER OR CASHIER’S CHECK. Those applying without a credit card must complete and mail the registration form found in the Candidate Handbook (click here for the form).
When I call to schedule an exam what will they ask me?
When you call to schedule an exam they will ask you for your AMP ID number.
Have pencil and paper ready. You will be given a confirmation number you will need to be admitted into the exam center.
Can I bring a calculator to the state test?
Yes. The testing center will allow any calculator that does not print; does not make noise; does not plug into a wall outlet and does not have an alphabetic keyboard. Programmable calculators are NOT allowed. A simple calculator (dollar store type) is all that is needed to complete the mathematical computations on the exam. Leave cell phones in the car. If caught with a cell phone at the test, you will be accused of cheating; you test will be given a fail and you will not be allowed to schedule a re-test until you have a hearing with the Disciplinary Board (a process that will take several months).
What can I bring to the test center? Can I bring a little snack to eat during the test?
You are not allowed to eat, drink, or smoke during the exam. Any materials, books etc., are not allowed in the testing room. Do not bring them to the test center. No watches with alarms, listening devices, recording or photographic equipment is allowed. No visitors, guests, pets or children are allowed at the examination center. Leave your coats and suit jackets and especially your cell phones and PDA’s in the car.
What must I bring to the test center the day of my exam?
- your confirmation number
- a photo id (driver’s license with your photo on it, or state ID card, current passport or military ID
- a second ID (signature card) such as a credit card
- failing score report (if retake)
How do I know what is on the exam?
The IDFPR provides an outline for the exam. The outline can be found in the Candidate Handbook available from AMP at 800-345-6559 or you can find the outline on their website at www.goAMP.com
What score must I get on the exam?
You must get a minimum grade of 75% on both the general and the Illinois specific portion of the exam.
How long do I get to complete the state exam?
|exam||time allotted||number of items|
(national and state portion)
|3.5 hours||140 multiple choice|
(national and state portion)
|3.5 hours||40 Illinois multiple choice –
10 national simulations
(national portion only)
|2.5 hours||100 multiple choice|
(state portion only)
|1.5 hours||40 multiple choice|
(national portion only)
|2.5 hours||10 simulations|
(Illinois portion only)
|1.5 hours||40 multiple choice|
Will they grade my exam at the testing center? How long do I have to wait to get my score?
Your test will be scored immediately after you finish the exam. If you pass the exam, your pass score report will simply state “PASS.” If you fail the exam, your score report will give you a number grade and will indicate how well you did in each of the major content areas of the exam. The major content areas of the exam are in the Candidate Handbook at www.goAmp.com.
If I cancel my test appointment, will they still charge me the $55?
You must cancel your exam 4 days before your scheduled test date by calling AMP at 800-345-6559. You will be allowed to change your exam date only once. If you do not provide 4 days notice of cancellation your exam fee will be forfeited.
I passed the state exam 15 months ago. Can I still apply for my license?
No. A successful state exam score is good for 1 year from the date of the exam. If you do not apply for your license within a year of passing the exam, you will be required to sit for (and pass) the exam again. Your 60 hour Broker Pre-License Topics and 15 hour Broker Pre-License Applied Principles transcripts are good for 2 years, so you won’t have to take the education requirement again. The same is true of your Managing Broker courses.
Prior approval? Who needs it?
Attorneys must file for prior approval (click here) before being allowed to sit for the exam.